small horn + waveguide PA? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > PA Systems

PA Systems A forum for discussion of all parts of a sound reinforcement or DJ system: loudspeakers, mixers (desks) etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th February 2010, 09:29 PM   #1
max axe is offline max axe  United States
diyAudio Member

Default small horn + waveguide PA?

I am looking for suggestions on how to design a unique loudspeaker.

I need a unique portable sound reinforcement speaker based on a horn of around 8 inches in diameter. The device would naturally be limited in frequency range. The question is how to extend the low end below the horn cutoff. But theres more; This thing must look like some kind of novel musical instrument.

I am a musician, not a speaker buff. I was hoping that I could mine the depths to which you folks have gone into this field and come up with a few gems to get me headed in the right direction. I am new to this forum. Assume I dont know anything about speaker design.

Recently I have been playing a midi wind instrument and it is very disconcerting to not have local sound! A midi wind instrument only sends data to a synth module of some kind and using typical floor monitors on stage to hear yourself is not good! (I am using sampled sounds of trumpet, trombone, clarinet, oboe and some strings, triggered by a Yamaha wx5 midi wind instrument.)

The goal is to create a portable monitor attached to the midi wind instrument in the form of a horn. A low mid-range horn. This serves an important second function of looking as though horn like sounds should be coming from this otherwise boring looking instrument.

An audience responds to visual ques. A part of it can pass over and rest on my shoulder. Think trombone