PA Speaker Rebuild Project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have an old set of crappy no name Pa speakers that I want to rebuild for use at parties and family events. The inside to inside dimensions are:
37.5" X 19.5" X 14.5"
The cabinet enclosure has no partitions. I was thinking of replacing the front panel; partitioning it off; and installing a 12 " sub, an 8" mid, and a horn tweeter. Custom crossover. I will be looking to run speakers and an amp that will handle 100-200 watts continuous power. I have been looking at Dayton speakers and Pyle, (for the cost) I want them to have a pretty nice bass response/punch as most of the music people seem to request is hiphop. I have no experience in speaker building so any and all tips would be helpful.

The cabinets look like this:
100_0741.jpg

If you want bumping bass for hip-hop, you'll need subwoofers. No way around it.

With regards to Pyle speakers, you're not going to get particularly good sound from them.

Dayton speakers are OK for home audio, but not really suited for pro applications.

If you're going to replace the baffle (front panel), your best option to look for woofers with specs that match the box size and put in a BFM style piezo array. Look to cross over at about 2KHz or so.

You'll need to use a port calculator page to figure the diameter and length of ports to put in, and a crossover calculator to figure your crossover.

And I forgot to add: by the time you're done with all that, you may well have spent as much as you would have building cabinets from scratch from a proven design.

Last edited:
I'd use something like an Eminence 15" with a horn driver like the PSD2002 as the benchmark. Then see if there's cheaper stuff that's "good enough". That's about the same volume my 15" Eminences use (bought under an MCM house number, cast frame, 80 oz magnet, 99 dB efficient).