Advice on recording...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I want to record some live classical music, mainly small scale stuff.

It's just a bit of fun so I don't want to spend TOO much.

Assume I have an up-to-date laptop (actually its a Toshiba Satellite Pro A120 Core 2 Duo 1.83 Ghz, 1 Gb memory 60Gb hd). What else do I need, both in principle and specifically. All advice welcome, I'm a noob.

I'm an absolute noob at this as well, but have had some good results with the really cheap ($60) large diaphragm condenser mics you can get now. The trick is that they need the full 48V phantom power supply to sound good. A high quality external A/D is the way to go, maybe an Emu or similar. Zzounds.com is a good place to get things, and their advice is usually pretty decent if you call or email. The items giving the best bang for the buck change frequently so get a wide variety of opinions. :cool:

Make your own mics from Panasonic WM-61 cartridges.
Very Cheap, Very small and inconspicuous ( if need be ) and if modified can handle a high SPL.
You will find a variety of sites(Linkwitz for one ) that describe how to do this in detail, and how to build a mic preamp, for added flexibilty.
The Stereophile Reference CD's have tracks that demo the sound of various mic. positioning techniques to give you an idea what to try.

http://www.linkwitzlab.com/Recording/Stereo-recording.htm
http://www.linkwitzlab.com/sys_test.htm#Mic