LS3/5a vs Mission 751 vs first DIY project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

Bit of a speaker newbie here - I am mainly into DACs and CD players.

I own some Mission 751s, which I love. I hope one day to design an active crossover for them and bi amp them (removing the passive crossover).

I also have recently gained the chance to acquire some Chartwell LS3/5a's, and a wilmslow sub to go with it. I wouldn't touch these, due to their age, but if I had them, I could justify modding the missions (as I would have a backup plan).

Firstly, how do you think these compare?

And, if I was to build my own pair of two way speakers, with a reasonable budget , how would I fare compared to these two?

Cheers,
Phil

Hi Phil,

I can't answer all of your questions but I would have to question the sanity of making a small 2-way bookshelf active. The main benefit of active crossovers is to separate bass from the rest, but in a 2-way this doesn't happen - you simply separate the tweeter from the rest, which costs you money and will probably worsen the sound. Most of the power goes into the mid/bass driver so using multiple amps won't massively lower distortion or increase maximum output.

With this sort of speaker you might be wise to upgrade the capicitor that runs in series with the tweeter to a very high quality type (polypropylene film and foil). You will also want to upgrade the inductor that goes in series with the mid/bass driver, as on these speakers it will probably be quite cheap. If it's not a huge coil replace it with a thick-gauged air-core inductor from Audiocom or similar.

Although as I've been waiting for some inductors from them for nearly 2 weeks now I don't like to recommend them. There is a lack of alternatives selling good coils though (I know of none in this country).