Crossover Help/Opinions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everybody,

I'm getting ready to build some crossovers, and was hoping somebody would be willing to look at my schematic and let me know if everything looks okay.

I have some Dynaudio mids (MW162) and some Seas 27TFF tweeters. Using the Dynaudio X250 xovers as a starting point, I'm planning on going 2200Hz/6dB on the mids, and 2200Hz/12dB on the tweeters.

The impedance correction (22uf cap and 4.7ohm resistor) are right from the Dynaudio spec sheet.

I'm also planning to put an lpad in there for tweeter adjustment--for $8 each it seems easier and more flexible than individual resistors.

Attached is the current schematic--it's not pretty, as I'm no Visio expert. (The crossover point is wrong--it's 2200Hz, not 1200 as it's shown).

Thanks,

Derrick

PS - Some of you might recognize this issue from my post in 2005. Been busy starting a family, so getting this last system issue resolved hasn't been high on my list... LOL

Attachments

• crossover.jpg
    crossover.jpg
    23.1 KB · Views: 487
The crossover is to low for that tweeter by my opinion. I would put it more to 3khz. Do you have a tweeter with lower free air resonance this one has 1200 you should get one with 700hz by my opinion . That 8ohm lpad is for changing the speakers impedance if it is then the crossover point is changing and you are attenuating the tweeter by changing the resistance on lpad. You need a normal resistor so the tweeter impedance is set to a constant number and then calculate the crossover. ;)

Hi. That's what I was afraid of. I was hoping to be able to use a shallow slope, but with the small overlap from 2k-4k, I guess I'm going to need to go 12dB on both sides somewhere closer to 3k? (The specs on the tweeter were taken with a 12dB slope at 3.5k).