New Scan-Speak D3004/660000 Distortion Tests

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Re: Re: Re: One other consideration

dlr said:

I saw that post, but didn't reply as I have only nominal experience with waveguides. The results are interesting, but I have little direct experience on which I can make direct comments.

A waveguide is supposed to increase sensitivity in the front hemi-sphere at the expense of the rear hemi-sphere (below step) and increase it in a cone (if a circular opening) defined by the waveguide geometry. As Geddes does it he's trying, as I understand it, to create constant directivity down to the point where diffraction diminishes the directivity and the dispersion starts to increase.

If you look at the post closely, the horn effect is only below 4KHz gradually rising to + 6dB at 1500Hz. All horns, in reality, only work over a bandpass and in this case it's about 1-4KHz, above and below there are cut-offs. So what is the advantage of a waveguide fitted to a 'conventional' tweeter? There are several, improved power handling when the crossover is adjusted to take advantage, hence lower distortion, better acoustic transition as the air impedance difference is less (caused by difference in cone/dome area meeting air). But horn loading is not one of them as there is no increase in sensitivity above 4KHz.

This means the ON axis response is not boosted either, BUT the response OFF axis is. So there is one kind of advantage below the crossover (lower distortion, higher power handling) and another above it (better dispersion). But we are not achieving increased system sensitivity as is the usual reason for using a horn.

Bottom line, horns can be used for a variety of reasons/purposes.

dlr said: