New Scan-Speak D3004/660000 Distortion Tests - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th March 2007, 10:30 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to Joe Rasmussen
Default New Scan-Speak D3004/660000 Distortion Tests

You may have noted that the D3004/660000 Tweeter (D30 for short) is still listed as NEW - it has not yet been referred by the "Revelator" moniker, although they say its research is based on the R2904 (R29 for short) Revelator.

www.tymphany.com/datasheet/printview.php?id=55

Being a consultant I have been loaned a pair of D30 and told that it is only one of two pairs here in Australia. They look like this:

Click the image to open in full size.

The most amazing look is the rear:

The distortion tests, Sample A and Sample B, measure slightly oddly compared to any tweeter tests I've done before:

Sample A:

Sample B:

There is more than reasonable consistency between samples, high order distortion 3-5 are very well suppressed, but 2nd harmonic is rather prominent and curiously flat over much of the working range of the tweeter. Maybe this is on purpose and designed to give this tweeter a certain 'sound'?

Now compare this with my current fave tweeter the NEW Peerless HDS 810921:

High order is as good as the D30, but 2nd harmonic is much better suppressed. I would be interested in hearing others interpretations of these measurements.

The Peerless HDS deserves to be adopted by the DIY fraternity. I don't know what the cost of the D30 will be but I suspect double or maybe more than the HDS.

I have not yet heard the D30 but have been using the HDS in my Elsinore Project speakers for about a month now and they continue to delight and even amaze me.