crossovers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am just beginning to build my first speaker project, a small two way bookshelf, and I am wondering what is the best way to construct the crossover. I have selected all of the components but I am unsure of how to assemble them correctly, and I have never seen any step by step instuctions on the process. I have heard of point-to-point soldering, perf board mounting, and pc-board mounting but I am unsure of how do do any of these. Any help would be greatly appreciated, especially with some visual resources.

cheers

Joined 2000
Paid Member
X-Overs

What's up Grim!

It would be easier to say that there is no trick to building a crossover, let alone selecting parts & design, but there are some techniques.

I think the easiest thing for you right now is point to point wiring on a pref board. You need to get an understanding of schematics first. You can do that by just looking at other people's designs and placement if they have pictures.

Second, if you don't have soldering experience, you need to get some. You can probably get tips all over the internet by doing searches on Google, Yahoo, ect...
If you have never used a soldering iron, be careful!! Touching the tip is extremely unforgiving. It is a guarenteed burn if you touch anything other than the handle.

You may get away with not having to solder by twisting the leads of the parts, but I don't highly recommend it.

The only problem I can think of off the top of my head is when placing coils on a board with limited space, you need to orient them so that there is little or no interference between them. If you are looking at a coil that's laying flat and need to place another right next to it, you'll need to place the second coil sitting on it's end like a wheel crashing into the 1st coil. This has shown to produce the least interference.