horn speakers- back and front loaded - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th February 2007, 06:31 AM   #1
Johnnyd is offline Johnnyd  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default horn speakers- back and front loaded

I am new to the speaker building hobby, but I have lots of woodworking hobby experience. I want to pose the question about a combination back and front loaded horn. I am wondering if I can build something like the Hedlund horn structure in combination with a tractrix wood turned horn similair to the Edgar or oris horn where the driver is placed. I am
wondering if this would be a positive or negative effect on the
sound. If there is a negative effect with joining the two
concepts, can someone tell me which concept is the best, as I can build either one, and I need advice on which one to roll on....
Thanks, Johnnyd
Old 13th February 2007, 07:27 AM   #2
DorinD is offline DorinD  Romania
diyAudio Member

Hi Jonny,
Please take a look at the "Horn Loudspeaker Design", by J. Dinsdale where your ideea is descripted:

http://www.volvotreter.de/dl-section.htm

(you'll find the article in 3 downloadable parts at the bottom of page)
Old 13th February 2007, 02:17 PM   #3
Banned

Default Re: horn speakers- back and front loaded

Quote:
Originally posted by Johnnyd
I am new to the speaker building hobby, but I have lots of woodworking hobby experience. I want to pose the question about a combination back and front loaded horn. I am wondering if I can build something like the Hedlund horn structure in combination with a tractrix wood turned horn similair to the Edgar or oris horn where the driver is placed. I am
wondering if this would be a positive or negative effect on the
sound. If there is a negative effect with joining the two