Starting From Scratch... Would love some pointers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,

I've been feeling rather ambitious lately and have decided that I'd love to be able to build my own speakers. I'm an avid music lover but don't (and probably never will) have the sort of money to spend thousands on a set of speakers.

I have no experience with anything like this and haven't built anything in my life (apart from woodwork at school which I enjoyed). I have a very basic knowledge of electronics.

What I need at the moment is information. Can anyone point me in the right direction where I can read up on EVERYTHING to do with speakers? At the moment I'm especially interested in the different types of speaker setups and how they each affect the sound that is produced so that I can work out what exactly I need to learn to be able to build them.

Any information about ANYTHING to do with speaker and their design would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks very much
Spadge.

First, you should buy and read "The Loudspeaker design cookbook" by Vance Dickason. This is a must!!

You could also browse the loudspeaker forum for any subject you need to understand (e.g. crossover).

You can search for diy loudspeaker in google and you will find a lot of interesting links.

A lot and a lot of reading.
good luck :)

Also try madisound.com 's forum. They sell good drivers at reasonable prices. (also parts express). I promise I have no ties other than being customers of both. Not to sell this site short. I've been reading mostly about the Aleph clones here. Oops.

Help

I can't get my foot out of my mouth

But seriously, you can't read too much about the sudject.

I'm brand new to the DIY audio scene too.. I decided to go with the Tangband W3-871s drivers.. The're small, pretty cheap (about $12 dollars), and they're full range (so no crossover if you're doing single driver enclosures).