Apogee MPTS-1 speakers for Dummies

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
After taking some time to look over this forum and doing some searches (with no luck) under "Apogee", I thought I would post this message in hope that someone would have the time to point me in the correct direction.

Due to financial hardships, I have recently become the owner of a complete (?) Apogee MPTS-1 loudspeaker system. The following link is about the only info that I was able to dig up on the system: http://www.msag.uz/apogee/mpts-1.htm

Being a Videotape Editor by trade, I am having a bit of a problem doing the install (in my home) and getting the system up and running again.

In short, the system consists of (3) front speakers each having three sets of terminals for H/M/L inputs. Two sets of surround speakers and a subwoffer with two sets of inputs. There is also a rack mounted THX decoder that I am assuming serves as the crossover network for the speakers as it has H/M/L outputs for each of the front speakers, surround speakers and sub woofer. There is also An Apogee parabolic EQ unit (mod. CRQ-12) that can be set for 6/6, 6/12, or 12/12 and also a Furman 2ch. graphic EQ unit (mod-Q151). In addition, each channel output (12 total) from the decoder, feeds to its own amp (6-2ch. QSC Audio Mod. USA 850s and 1- QSA Audio Mod. USA1300 for the sub woofer). Alot of hardware all rack mounted!

The decoder unit has (preamp) inputs for L,C,R,SL,SR and Sub. Which I ran from the sub outs of a Pioneer tuner. When I fire the system up, the audio sounds flat with no high end or low end. I am assuming that the outputs from the MPTS-1 decoder still need to be EQ'd via the Apogee EQ unit. I then tried to loop the Left and Right front feeds through the Apogee EQ, this was better, but it still seems I can't get them to sound even close to OK.