Bass reflex rollof questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
1/ I notice when using WinISD for example, if I make the box bigger and bigger the response gets peakier before it rolls off. Does that mean the transient response in the peakier region is worse because of the higher Q?

2/ You can have a fairly flat response or you can extend the response downward somewhat if you are prepared to tolerate a few rises and dips in the response. Do these response shapes correspond with those of active filters e.g. butterworth, chebyshev etc?

diyAudio Moderator Emeritus
Joined 2001
I cannot answer the second question because I am not an engineer familiar with different filter arrangements.

The answer to the first question is yes.

When it comes to bass reflex, remember this guideline. Transient response gets smoother when you start with low Qts woofers-beneath .38-and put them in boxes that are smaller than the speaker's Vas. The boxes will be tuned above the speaker's Fs.

So a speaker with a Qts of .25 going into a box that is one third of the speaker's Vas will have better transient response than a speaker with a Qts of .38 going into a box equal to it's Vas and tuned to the speaker's Fs.

A speaker with Qts above .38 fits well into a box larger than the Vas and can tune well into a box larger than the Vas. It will have the worst transient response of all.

For any given speaker, you can make the box larger or smaller within a scertain range. The smaller you make the box, the better the transient response.

It's been my experience that speakers with a Q of .5 or below sound good in a properly made and tuned box. That is my subjective opinion that some might disagree with.

Basically, the steeper the rolloff, the worse the transient response. The low Qts speakers I spoke of will yield the more gradual slope.