So I disected my old bose today

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I dunno, I was bored, and keep reading about building some new speakers. The problem I have is that for some strange reason, I still like the sound and imaging of my old bose 10.2 speakers. They are now 20 years old, and still on their origonal foam. I never liked bose products personally, except for this one set of speakers they have, 10.2, orginal series. They weigh 62 lbs a pop, (Does bose make anything that weighs half as much these days?) and have a unique arrangement. Two 8" woofers in a sort of TL alignment where they vent out the side, and two tweeters that point left and right from the front. One of the tweeters shuts off over 5K hz.
But in order to tip me into the building mode, just for giggles, I popped off one of the woofers to take a look at what they might have used for a network. I am no crossover engineer, but I have to think, they did not spend a hella lot of time on these. Iwould have thought $1200 speakers would at least have some sort of network for the woofers. Nope. Full tilt on those, wired directly to the terminal cup with no network,. The tweeters have a car dome lamp in series as a current limiter, and the inductors are wound with (I am guessing here) maybe 28 or 30 gauge wire. It made me laugh slightly as I just finished building the crossovers for these:
http://users.d-web.com/dbrown/db616tl2/db616tl2.htm
for my brother in law.
Anyway, here is a pic of the bose with its dress up.
This is not btw, a major bash on bose, (that happens enough else where) even though it might appear that way. I am just trying to sort out something, namely if I want to build a new set of speakers.
I really have the hots for the raw acoustics HT8's. My neighbor says: "How much of an improvement will I have over these?"