Importance of building your own crossover? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th December 2006, 10:50 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Importance of building your own crossover?

hi,

I'm somewhat new to DIY audio (I've made very low end speakers). However, I have never made my own crossovers.

Is it not possible to purchase ready made crossovers that will suit your needs, or do you find you get much better sound by making your own crossovers?
Old 29th December 2006, 01:32 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

"Is it not possible to purchase ready made crossovers that will suit your needs, or do you find you get much better sound by making your own crossovers?"

Depends on your needs. They will probably be fine for "low end" speakers, but if you plan on going audiophile there's not much point in spending a lot of money on quality drivers and then skimping on crossovers.

The best way to learn about building great loudspeakers, including the crossovers, is to buy a reputable kit or build an established design. If you need links let us know.
Old 29th December 2006, 02:31 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to ocool_15 Send a message via Yahoo to ocool_15
A crossover should be driver specific.

Things like a zobel are calculated from the drivers specs.
The lowest crossover point for a tweeter is generally stated as 2*fs (some places 3*fs).
An L-pad is calculated to give a specific attenuation based on the drivers efficiency and impedence.

In short a prebuilt crossover will work but a crossover that takes into account the drivers parameters/characteristics will give better results.
Old 29th December 2006, 04:54 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

My recommendations are: