zaph l18/27tbfcg build quesion

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey everyone,

I'm rather new to the world of DIY, but after browsing around a bit I decided to build a pair of Zaph's seas monitors...

I just got the crossovers built, and completed a few hours' of listening. These are a little on the warm side for my taste, and I noted there's a reduced baffle step crossover available, which I'm considering trying. There doesn't look to be much info on his site, though, and searches here failed to turn up any detailed info either. Can anyone provide or point me to a link/thread with more info?

Thanks.

Here you go.

Reduced BSC Crossover

Note that many people also find this speaker on the bright side. You may also want to double check the tweeter polarity, (both negatives to ground) as the null may indirectly contribute to a warm tonality. Another thing you may try is a lower port tuning, which would thin out the midbass a bit.

But, if you're using these in a smallish room or close to walls, this crossover may help.

Anyoune built sealed alignment version?

I'm considering a sealed alignment build (reduced BSC optional) of Zaph's speaker17 (L18) design.

* Enclosure baffle will be same width and height as the PE .5 cuft enclosure, but enclosure will be less deep (smaller volume).

* Less deep cabinet will help a lot to increase my placement options. That is why sealed vs. tuned port in the PE enclosure.

* L18s will be integrated with a single NHT 1259 sealed and NHT SA-3 sub amplifier. Plan to use the amplifier's active crossover network at best setting for the room (12x16 bedroom), maybe as high as 125hz crossover point.

* Used Zaph's "real T/S parameeters" and a total system Q value of .707 my enclosure result was .23 cuft. My gut tells me to do .3 cuft stuffed (.4 to .5 cuft apparent volume) to best allow integration with active sub crossover.