zaph l18/27tbfcg build quesion - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th December 2006, 08:41 AM   #1
vcmc is offline vcmc  United States
diyAudio Member

Default zaph l18/27tbfcg build quesion

Hey everyone,

I'm rather new to the world of DIY, but after browsing around a bit I decided to build a pair of Zaph's seas monitors...

I just got the crossovers built, and completed a few hours' of listening. These are a little on the warm side for my taste, and I noted there's a reduced baffle step crossover available, which I'm considering trying. There doesn't look to be much info on his site, though, and searches here failed to turn up any detailed info either. Can anyone provide or point me to a link/thread with more info?

Thanks.
Old 24th December 2006, 02:20 PM   #2
Zaph is offline Zaph  United States
diyAudio Member

Here you go.

Reduced BSC Crossover

Note that many people also find this speaker on the bright side. You may also want to double check the tweeter polarity, (both negatives to ground) as the null may indirectly contribute to a warm tonality. Another thing you may try is a lower port tuning, which would thin out the midbass a bit.

But, if you're using these in a smallish room or close to walls, this crossover may help.
Old 24th December 2006, 09:22 PM   #3
vcmc is offline vcmc  United States
diyAudio Member

Ah, I'd been searching for "baffle step compensation" instead of "BSC"... thanks Zaph.
Old 3rd June 2007, 08:30 PM   #4
liasom is offline liasom  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Anyoune built sealed alignment version?

I'm considering a sealed alignment build (reduced BSC optional) of Zaph's speaker17 (L18) design.