German Physiks & Marten Coltrane - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th December 2006, 08:30 AM   #1
shygon is offline shygon  Greece
diyAudio Member

Default German Physiks & Marten Coltrane

Hello, i am a newbie in the audiophile society and i would like to ask a question that bothers me for the last few weeks.

By searching the web, I came accross these speakers:

a) Marten Coltrane Supreme
b) German Physiks "The Gaudi"

The first ones, have two towers per channel, one for the bass and another one separately for the midrange and tweeters. So they need two (2) monoblock power-amplifiers per channel, one for each tower.

The second ones, they need three (3) monoblock power amplifiers per channel, one for each section (DDD, Woofer, Subwoofer).

So, my question is how on earth they should be configured in order to create a stereo system? Assuming that you have the following components:

Burmester CD Transport 969
Burmester D/A Converter 970 SRC
Line preamp: Mark Levinson No. 32

4x (or 6x for Gaudi's case) VTL Siegfried 800-Watt Reference Monoblocks -or Vitus Audio SM-101 Monostage-

If the Mark Levinson No. 32 should take a pair of Sigfrieds into his output, how can the other poweramplifier pair(s) should connect? And if more than one pre-amplifiers should be used, how can they be connected to the sources? I cannot understand the connection architecture of such complex systems. Can someone explain to me? Thank you in advance.
Old 12th December 2006, 09:39 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi,

you will need an active crossover to be placed between the preamp and the poweramps.
Or even better, a digital loudspeaker management system - something like this: http://www.behringer.com/DCX2496/index.cfm?lang=en.

hope that helps,
LC