Do edgarhorns and noobs mix? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th November 2006, 03:17 PM   #1
Dan_ed is offline Dan_ed  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Do edgarhorns and noobs mix?

Hello all,

My first post here as I start into the world of DIY audio. I'm an experinced amateur woodworker and audiophool. For my first trick I'd like to perform the building of some titan II's (I believe that is what Bruce is selling as kits). I've visited Volvotreter's page quite often and the pictures of his build have answered many of my questions regarding the mid-bass cabinets.

Where I'm not sure of how to proceed is with the upper baffle that contains the mid compression driver and tweeter. Or if a baffle is needed at all. I've seen some horn implementations that just use small mounting structures for these, but I'm not sure which approach is the best.

For those who have built edgarhorns in the past, did you find it necessary to go through prototype stages?

Thanks,

Dan
Old 13th November 2006, 07:10 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default another question

I have heard of many people filling the baffle of the 80Hz horn with sand to dampen and add weight. That seems like an awful lot of sand! Could I use some other dampening material instead? Something like the stuff GR Research sells, blackhole and No Rez?
Old 14th November 2006, 08:21 AM   #3
DorinD is offline DorinD  Romania
diyAudio Member

See my free style implementation from Edgarhorns:

http://www.hi-fi.ro/fhifi/viewtopic....5278&start=120

For mids and hi's I use CD horn and bullet tweeter in free air, small baffle for tweeter and a fixing frame.