Anybody built (bought) the Exodus 2641's ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've built a pair of 2641's (not to spec - I crossed them over @ 800/5600) and I'd be interested to hear any other experiences other people have had with this design.

I am curious as to why I have seen very few references to these loudspeakers.

So many other designs get a lot of posts - is this because very few people build them or what?

Even with my non-standard implementation they are spectacular - any comments?

Just curious.

Regards,
Tom

I am currently in the process of doing the finish work on the cabinet. I just built them to spec as it is my first build and don't have a whole lot of knowledge of this stuff. In my mock up testing I am not totally sure they will give me what I am looking for and have already been glancing at other designs. I know they will require some playing to open up and all. I guess I just really like that open sound and sense of the sound floating in the air. Time will tell.

Glad you are really enjoying them. What is your associated gear?

Mike

Congrats, ther're great!

Associated gear is a pair of UcD 400's on the HG supply with the 1KVA toroid but I've also driven them with a pair of UcD 180's on an ST supply with a 250VA Traffo and they are just as sweet.

They are driven by an integrated custom digital music server with an Onkyo SE90-PCI 24/192 DAC on a VIA Mobo running Foobar2000.

Bear in mind that I did NOT build Kevins XO (I intend to build his XO soon). I have not done the right thing but my ears are old and I like very forward midrange. Kevin probably has it right and I don't. Massive anyway...

However these are the most SPECTACULAR loudspeakers I've ever owned (heard) - spooky airy and wide - lovely. Nobody who has heard them has done anything but close their eyes and say - Wow. Spooky good.