Multiple small drivers for large output?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
I am complete newbie and had this strange thought.

Is it possible to combine a set of low power small drivers to build a speaker system having higher power? If I have drivers capable of 10W output, can I combine 5 of them to give me say 50W output or so?

If so, should they be in series/parallel?

Thanks
Din

It's been tried several times. The first I know of was the "Sweet 16" which appeared in Popular Mechanics, in the '60's I think. It was the first speaker design of a ham radio hobbyist, and was quite naive. Later Bose used the idea for their first speaker design.

The fundamental problem is the bass. You can't really get useful output below the drivers' low frequency resonance, which of course is fairly high for small, light cones.

Another problem for home use, is that you tend to get beaming because of the effective radiating area. Maximum dispersion is from a point source, and a multi-driver array takes you further from that ideal. (This can be useful for controlled pattern professional speakers, another issue entirely. )

Another problem can be power handling. Small, good drivers are not cheap; small cheap drivers tend to have very low power handling capabilities (with some exceptions), so the power handling for the array can be less than intuitively expected.

Inexpensive small drivers tend to have inexpensive cones and surrounds, as well as small magnetic assemblies, so high frequency performance is not outstanding.

The idea can be implemented successfully, but then it's not cheap; e.g. the Pipedreams. There are many reasons why the 3 way (and it's variations) has become the standard design; it's simply won out against the competition over time.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Curmudgeon,
Don't forget about the terrible high frequency response!