Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th October 2006, 09:58 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to Spasticteapot
Default Anyone know some decent free SPL meter software & "white noise"?

First, I'm a student. Please don't tell me to "go buy a SPL meter". I'm new to DIY speakers, and a good SPL meter would mean that I could'nt build any speakers 'till I get some more money.

Anyway, does anyone know of some decent software that will allow me to measure the output of a speaker? I have some Teslas I'd like to try, but they have nearly no bass, and I need to figure out what they need in the way of crossovers. I have a laptop, a cheapie microphone, and a headphone->RCA adapter, and that's about it.

Finally, a link to some downloadable "white noise" for testing a speaker would be dandy.
Old 15th October 2006, 10:14 PM   #2
bwaslo is offline bwaslo  United States
diyAudio Member

Try using Praxis in "free/demo" mode, it will let you run it as a Real Time Analyzer and provides pink noise output (which is what you want with an RTA type analyzer, not white noise) from the soundcard.

http://libinst.com/praxis_downloads.htm
Old 15th October 2006, 10:27 PM   #3
zlast is offline zlast  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to zlast Send a message via MSN to zlast Send a message via Yahoo to zlast
Default speakerworkshop

http://www.speakerworkshop.com/FAQ.htm

SPL meter

http://www.trueaudio.com/
Old 15th October 2006, 10:39 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to Spasticteapot
Thanks!

Can anyone reccomend a cheap microphone for this?
Old 15th October 2006, 11:37 PM   #5
diyAudio Member