Audax HD3P/Meadowlark help needed!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone!

I'm new at this and I need your help.

The Audax HD3P tweeters in my Meadowlark Blue Heron speakers have deflated. My questions are:

Preferably) Does anyone have a pair for sale or know of a source? I know this is a long shot. I would only need the tweeters themselves (no x-over or trans needed) since other parts are in speaker already.

Last ditch effort) Has anyone replaced these tweeters with another type with good results? If so, could you please explain the procedure and possible replacement options? I have no prior x-over mod experience but do have quite a bit of soldering exp and some limited electronics know-how. I'm confident I could swap parts succesfully with clear instructions. A drop-in replacement would be lovely but I do realize this may be a long shot as well.

SALAS - I see you have done this to Nightingales. Any advice?

All help is greatly appreciated.

diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member
I have used a 100mm chassis Audax dome (A26) with 1uF cap and Lpad. You will not find 'golden eggs,' and if you will in ebay, expect them to deflate soon. They are old production. Better mod the singing bird.

Your sister sees the future
Like your mama and yourself.
You've never learned to read or write
There's no books upon your shelf.
And your pleasure knows no limits
Your voice is like a meadowlark
But your heart is like an ocean
Mysterious and dark.

One more cup of coffee for the road,
One more cup of coffee 'fore I go
To the valley below.

Bob Dylan - One More Cup Of Coffee (Valley Below)

diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member