Finishing Advice - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th October 2006, 11:34 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to johninCR Send a message via MSN to johninCR Send a message via Yahoo to johninCR
Default Finishing Advice

I'm a noob when it comes to wood finish, but I want to do a top notch job with the baffles of my set of Planet10's Frugelhorns. I'm using multiple layers of real wood for my supra-baffles. While my camera didn't do the raw wood justice, I really want to bring out the depth of grain without too much darkening. I read with interest the thread a while back about using boiling linseed oil, followed by flame treatment once it is hardened. Has anyone tried it, and is it easy enough for a beginner to get great results?

Click the image to open in full size.
Old 6th October 2006, 01:03 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

What is the wood?

The linseed oil finish you mention is not what I would call beginner friendly.
It takes a lot of work to get it right.
It's high risk too. Flame treating can cause burns or scorching...
Also I have only ever seen it done on very tight grained, lighter colored hardwoods like curly maple. There it can look spectactular.

Your wood looks like teak or possibly walnut (the camera didn't do it justice!)?
Judging from the darkeness and texture I would expect the wood to get very dark with linseed. Especialy after a few years when you've quit re-applying it and it starts to oxidize. Most oils, especialy non-drying, have a tendency to darken the wood. The more open, porous, soft and dark the wood the more the oil will darken it.

You can get great looking results using more forgiving materials like plain old or rub on polyurethane, polymerized tung oil, acrylic or nitro lacquers, etc.