Plans so far

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey,

I'm a student taking Product Design for AS and I’m designing a set of floor standing speakers as my project.

I just thought I would post and get some constructive criticism.

When finished it will have a Tymphany Revelator Midwoofer (15W/8530K00) as the woofer, not the best but I’m still designing it, Tymphany Revelator Midrange (15M/4531K00) as the midrange and a Revelator (D2904/980000) as the tweeter.

Speaker.jpg

So far this is just the enclosure for woofer. Each section will be milled from 20mm thick birch with a cherry (or similar) inlay in the front.

That’s it for the min. so what do you guys think?

Mat

p.s be kind, I’m new at this.

Hi Mat,

Nice rendering :cool:

I'd have a look at some other drive units if this is your first project and think about a 2 way to start with, the more drive units you add it gets exponentially harder to get them to work togeather.

I've not heard great things about the 15M Revalators, the 15W's on the other hand are supposed to be very good. I havn't worked with either though so take that with a grain of salt. Also you might find a soft dome tweeter easier to integrate, I use the SS 9500's in my main speakers and am dead happy with them. Remember when looking at drive units more expensive doesn't always mean better ;)

If you decide to go the 3 way route you'll want a bit more cone area for the bass driver, running a single 5" driver as a woofer isn't ideal at higher levels.

Have a look at Troel's Crossover design article for a better explanation of the advantages/disadvantages of various configurarions.

Have fun! :smash: :D