Is your speaker better sounding them B&W 800 Series? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th August 2006, 05:44 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Is your speaker better sounding them B&W 800 Series?

Hi

Just wondering of those who have built a high quality sounding speaker, how do you compare it to the B&W 800 series?

I am basing my new speakers off the 800 series, hopefully it turns out well.
Old 24th August 2006, 07:03 AM   #2
Daveis is offline Daveis  United States
diyAudio Member

3 sets of ears. Myself and two unbiased friends say that my own best efforts are not as good as B&W 800 series. Very disappointing, but I'm an amateur and it was my first attempt.

Beating the B&W 800's is my own personal goal in DIY speaker building.

My drivers
2 Seas Millenium tweeter
2 BG RD40 ribbons
4 scanspeak 21w8554's
2 Dayton RS alumimum woofs

crossover: all digital PC

My speakers sound detailed and at times lifelike. But they lack coherence. I'd estimate they sound better than NHT ST4's and lowend Maggies, but lag the B&W's by a large margin.
Old 24th August 2006, 04:31 PM   #3
Salas is offline Salas  Greece
diyAudio Chief Moderator

Your digital pc cross is a major bottleneck qualitywise.
Old 24th August 2006, 09:13 PM   #4
Daveis is offline Daveis  United States
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally posted by salas
Your digital pc cross is a major bottleneck qualitywise.