Is your speaker better sounding them B&W 800 Series?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
3 sets of ears. Myself and two unbiased friends say that my own best efforts are not as good as B&W 800 series. Very disappointing, but I'm an amateur and it was my first attempt.

Beating the B&W 800's is my own personal goal in DIY speaker building.

My drivers
2 Seas Millenium tweeter
2 BG RD40 ribbons
4 scanspeak 21w8554's
2 Dayton RS alumimum woofs

crossover: all digital PC

My speakers sound detailed and at times lifelike. But they lack coherence. I'd estimate they sound better than NHT ST4's and lowend Maggies, but lag the B&W's by a large margin.

salas said:
Your digital pc cross is a major bottleneck qualitywise.

Salas, you are the first person who has ever said that a digital crossover was inherently worse than an active or passive analog crossover. Most of the comments I've seen say that passive speaker level crossovers are still very good possibly better sounding than active analog crossovers such as the Marchand. Have you tried digital crossovers? In particular either Voxengo or Thuneau ones using VST plugins?

I listened to several FIR based crossovers and decided I didnt like the sound. But the IIR type crossovers sound very natural to me.

What's the quality of the A/D and D/A on your sound card? What's the quality of the output stage? The connectors? How much electrical noise is there in your PC?

PC sound cards aren't really that hot for audio quality.

And an active crossover using op-amps is not very difficult to build.

Daveis said:
...Most of the comments I've seen say that passive speaker level crossovers are still very good possibly better sounding than active analog crossovers such as the Marchand...