Is this normal diffraction? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th August 2006, 06:48 PM   #1
ch83575 is offline ch83575  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Is this normal diffraction?

Ok, this is my first project and I am moving allong VERY slowly. I am confused by my tweeter responce. I think that the baffle diffraction looks very exagerated (ie +/- 3db) and it is making the tweeter crossover very difficult. I have the tweeter recessed, but the rebate ended up a little too shallow, so there is a little lip. Also I am not flush mounting the driver because I dont know how. I guess my question is, is this normal? Do I just have to design around this, or am I doing something wrong?

Click the image to open in full size.
Front baffle

Close-up of tweeter rebate.

Tweeter responce in question.

So, do I just rebuild with tighter tolerances on my woodworking (again this is my first time at this) or is there a bigger problem here that I am missing?

Thanks in advance.
Chad
Old 20th August 2006, 06:52 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

are you sure that's not your mic??
Old 20th August 2006, 06:54 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Well you could try experimenting with felt strips around the tweeter like this site. And see if that smooths out the response. Personally I've had my own disaster at flush mounting since I only have the Dremel router. So from now on i just surface mount then put on a block of felt around the drivers.

http://www.speakerdesign.net/home.html
Old 20th August 2006, 06:58 PM   #4
diyAudio Member