Commercial loudspeaker to choose and carpentry tools - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th June 2006, 02:31 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Commercial loudspeaker to choose and carpentry tools

Hi everybody out there, I am new to this website, so firstly thank you for your time reading my questions.

I have some experience with building headphone amp. Currently I am moving towards loudspeaker system for home stereo. My basic idea is I'll build everything but loudspeaker, for speaker, I am not sure yet whether I will take DIY approach or buy commerical products. So here are my questions.

1. To build a pair of loudspeakers, what kind of tools are needed? How much does a set of medium quality tools cost?
2. I know tools can be expensive, if I decide not to DIY, what commericial loudspeaker do you think are reasonably priced, but with good quality? I looked at review of JBL 4400 series(currently 4408A, 4410A, 4412A), seems they have good reputation, and not too expensive. What do you guys think about them?
3. Could you please also direct me to some nice proven DIY loudspeaker designs?

Thank you for your time, any reply will be appreciated.
Old 4th June 2006, 04:37 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Here is a good thread
Necessary tools for diy?

I own many tools Table saw, Radial arm saw, planers, jointer, shaper, multiple routers, etc, etc.

You'll get a different answer from every one and I guess it depends largely on your budget and the space you have to work in. Let us know your budget and work space and we can give you some realistic paths.
Old 4th June 2006, 05:08 PM   #3
diyAudio Member