Do glue that panel! No, don't! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd May 2006, 07:58 PM   #1
st2_998 is offline st2_998  Italy
diyAudio Member

Question Do glue that panel! No, don't!

Hi, everybody!
I'm a newbie at this great forum, and I'm writing from Italy. I'm looking around to build a pair of speakers, probably Proac Clones (I was also excited by other projects on Troels G.'s site). I own a woodworking machine (no tilting circular saw blade, unfortunately) and so I'd like to build my own enclosures too.

I'm sorry I'm going to ask some plain and overly common questions about building you could be really fed up with , in fact I tried digging in the forum but the number of hits was overwhelming and I couldn't find something really focused on the point. I guess this is my fault, though.

1) this is my first project so I can imagine that, although housing the xover in the plinth, I'll do some further tweaking inside, probably with damping. Glueing the whole box appears to be a bad step this way. In order to have a removable back panel I was thinking about routing a recess in the other panel's edges, lying a gasket around and fixing the panel by some good old long screws. This could be also a temporary arrangement, and one day the gasket could be replaced by glue and the screws get the last turn! What do you think about that?