Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th April 2006, 09:28 PM   #1
CJ900RR is offline CJ900RR  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Default This might be stupid but...

I have read that sound it self can be seperated in 6 different stages.

Deep bas: 16 - 35 Hz
Bas: 35 - 120 Hz
Low midrange: 120 - 400 Hz
Midrange: 400 - 2k Hz
High midrange: 2k - 5kHz
Diskant (dont know the word for it in english, sorry) 5k - 20kHz

Would it be a good idea to build a speaker with 6 element's and a filter that split the different ranges between the element's depending on frequenzy, or am i way out of track here?!

Im new to this so laugh at me or tell me if it could be done, or maybe it allready have been?

Thanks in advance, Carl Johan...
Old 27th April 2006, 10:18 PM   #2
Speakerholic
diyAudio Moderator

Hi Carl,

Interesting question.

I think you'll find there are differing opinions on the frequencies you have listed and that there isn't really anything that causes a division, so they're not necessarily important figures. Often the spectrum is divided by octaves.

Ideally you want one driver to cover all frequencies but that's tough to do. Some like full range drivers, other find them lacking. The next best thing is a two way. You have only two drivers to mess the sound up and one croosover point. Some persons like to start with a really good midrange and work outward from there, ie: use the mid for most of the spectrum and just fill in where needed at the lowest and highest frequencies.

By the time you get to six drivers, you had better have well matched drivers and a heck of a lot of XO knowledge or they might just end up being a waste of time and money.
Old 27th April 2006, 11:25 PM   #3
owdi is offline owdi  United States
diyAudio Member