Onken with Eminence drivers? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th February 2006, 05:46 PM   #1
Giaime is offline Giaime  Italy
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to Giaime
Default Onken with Eminence drivers?

Hello everybody!

This probably is my first post in the Loudspeakers area, so be nice I'm not an expert.

The question is: I'd like to make an Onken bass cabinet with Eminence or Ciare Speakers.

1) What parameters should I look for?

2) Is there an Eminence that you have tried or can point me at?

3) Is the popular xls "Onken Calculator" right? Or do I'm getting wrong results?

4) Some other European-available CHEAP drivers?

I calculated with the mentioned spreadsheet an Onken with a Eminence Beta12, it gave me a nice 230L cabinet tuned to about 30Hz, I made drawings for it but... what about the Xmax at 0.8mm????????? A friend of mine said that with 10W I will destroy the cone. Should I go for the Alpha 10 that has similar results when put in the mentioned xls?

Can someone help me? Thanks in advance!
Old 17th February 2006, 02:48 AM   #2
cotdt is offline cotdt  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to cotdt
you want to use solar power.
Old 17th February 2006, 09:31 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

I already have used solar power to power a little tube amp.

Now I want Onkens!!!

Is this doable or the reply above should point me at the incredible difficulties I will find in trying to use an Eminence for an Onken cabinet???

Please be nice
Old 17th February 2006, 10:35 PM   #4
Ron E is offline Ron E  United States
diyAudio Member

What do you think is different about an Onken vs. a vented box?
Old 17th February 2006, 11:00 PM   #5
diyAudio Member