seas bookshelf - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th January 2006, 05:40 AM   #1
rv1890 is offline rv1890  Armenia
diyAudio Member

Default seas bookshelf

Ive been looking at the DD8-MKII on http://www.humblehomemadehifi.com/DD8-MkII.html and noticed it uses the same drivers as the bookshelf that I finished building from Zaphs web site the seas l18/27

The question I had was why does the humble hi fi use a 2nd order xover @ 2khz and Zaph use a 4th order xover @ 2khz. Im still a newbie and was wondering what kinds of differences this makes. . Also does anyone know if humble hifi's is ported or seald?. And has anyone heard both systems and impressions. Thanks.
Old 30th January 2006, 06:29 AM   #2
Salas is offline Salas  Greece
diyAudio Chief Moderator

Quote:
The reflex port is placed in the rear panel and is a standard plastic trumpet shape tube from Monacor, the BR45-TR (Sd=13,8cm2).
The above comes from the link you gave.

Series crossovers sound different and interesting I might add.

Its precarious to fit in even slightly different baffle shapes with different tunings. You may test and tune to find out if you are curious enough.

I have no personal experience from Humble designs. I am aware that they have a good name in Europian DIY though.
Old 30th January 2006, 10:24 AM   #3
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Re: seas bookshelf

Quote:
Originally posted by rv1890

The question I had was why does the humble hi fi use a 2nd order xover @ 2khz and Zaph use a 4th order xover @ 2khz. Im still a newbie and was wondering what kinds of differences this makes. . Also does anyone know if humble hifi's is ported or seald?. And has anyone heard both systems and impressions. Thanks.
Hi,