the "ibox" custom ipod speaker system-PLEASE HELP - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th January 2006, 03:51 AM   #1
oddjob7 is offline oddjob7  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to oddjob7
Default the "ibox" custom ipod speaker system-PLEASE HELP

Hi, I am a high school engineering student, and I am starting a project to make a dockable sound system for the new ipod video. I have done some research on speaker building, and my (approximate) plan includes the following: 1 12-18" subwoofer, 2 tweeters, (maybe 2 midrange speakers), 1 2-way crossover, 1 100-200 watt amp for the subwoofer, and 1 100 watt amp for the tweeters/midrange. I am planning to build everything into 1 "box" (speakers, amps), although the subwoofer will be seperated. My system is called the "ibox", and will be approximately 3x3x3. The subwoofer will be seperated by a wall that will be halfway through the box. Behind this I will house the amps for the sub and the tweeters/midrange, along with the crossover (and possibly a cd player I have lying around) . the inputs will be connected to an ipod dock that will be mounted on the top. The "box" will be raised off the ground by three inch spikes, and I also plan on adding a neon green light to the bottom (for aesthetics), as well as a green computer fan to the area containing the amps/cd player.

Here are a few general questions I have:
1. How to wire an active crossover? I have seen many pages on the subject, but none have been helpfull or include pictures. Do they use speaker wires, or rca cables?
2. Will the vibrations from the sub ruin the system? can they be in the same "box" as the other speakers without a significant effect to the sound?