Need Quick Help if Possible (Question And Design)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First the question.
This is my first time building and I am building floorstanding home theatre speakers. When a driver states its Vas as being a specific value, is that meant to be the cabinet volume required for the driver? Whate are the affects of increasing size or decreasing size?

Next the bigger problem.
Somewhat related is a woofer issue im having with designing a cabinet for the woofer in the dimesions required for my floorstanding speakers. The inside volume i have to work with for the woofer is 6.5 inches wide, 13 inches deep and 25 inches tall. Both the driver and the port must shoot forward in the end. Yes it must be ported. The driver i have has a link listed below with its specs. The reason i havent been able to design an appropriate enclosure is because no matter what route i choose i end up with one critical flaw. WHether, port whistling, or having the port end withing 3 inches of an interior wall (i hear its bad) or port length issues. Im open to any suggestions or ideas. And please correct me if im wrong with ne of my statements. I have attempted using some basic programs which all prove to cause some flaw. Once again any help is appreciated!!

diyAudio Moderator Emeritus
Joined 2001
Rounder said:
First the question.
This is my first time building and I am building floorstanding home theatre speakers. When a driver states its Vas as being a specific value, is that meant to be the cabinet volume required for the driver?

What is the Vas? It is a specification which is essential in calculating the proper volume for your woofer's enclosure. In most cases, the proper enclosure will not be the same volume as the Vas, though it might be. It all depends on the other specifications, such as Qts and Fs, of the woofer.

Joined 2001