Speaker specs.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to audio and hi-fi stuff but very interested. Can somebody please xplaine to me what the following stuff mean that is written on my speaker, and what must I look for on a speaker that will tell me if it is a good speaker or a bad speaker.
I got a set of Monitor Audio Silver3i speakers, with the following specs:
Sensitivity 88dB
Max SPL / Pair: 107dB
Power 100W RMS @ 8ohms

Please xplain.
Thanx alot
JDeV

Hi,
just looking at spec is not sufficient to tell you the sound quality of a speaker or any audio equipment.
Talking of speakers, the spec gives you an idea of what ampli will better matchs that particular speaker, but listening to the various combinations is a must.
For example, your speaker sensitivity is 88 db, so you will not try to match it with a low power ampli, like a single ended tube amp.

sensitivity/efficiency :
A loudspeaker specification, usually given as the amount of output in dB for an amplifier output of 1w measured at 1m. Standard loudspeaker sensitivities range from 87dB to 90dB. High-efficiency designs, such as are required with low-powered triode amps, usually offer >93dB while horn-loaded speakers can achieve efficiencies >100dB. Double the amplifier power is required to achieve the same output from a 87dB-rated speaker as from a 90dB rated one. Shopping for higher-efficiency speakers minimizes the amplifier power required to drive them. This can save both money and improve the performance. Lower-powered amps from the same manufacturer often sound more refined than their more muscular siblings

For a glossary, take a look at this address: http://www.goodsound.com/glossary/0200.htm

Regards