smith horns and using compression horns for a Karlson party speaker project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am presently planning things out for my first DIY project, a pair of 15" Karlsons(say what you will about the Karlson). I am hoping to cross the woofer in the K-coupler at something like 1 to 1.5 Khz and hopefully use a compression driver and horn lens like a Selenium D210T to carry things from there on.

Let me add a disclaimer: i may be a novice audiophile and DIYer but i believe i know what i am looking for from my speakers-to-be. because i'm a 19-year-old university student, i have to be pragmatic. i really don't forsee myself having a listening room of any sort until i hopefully complete law school and finish paying off my student loans, etc. as a result, it is also rather unlikely that i am ever going to own anything substantially more "reference class" than a 70's/80's era mid-fi reciever(presently a '76 Marantz/Superscope R-1270) and Technics SL-1600 turntable for a number of years to come. The result is i am not looking to achieve the ultimate reference speaker - rather, my focus is creating a big, bad, and incidentally loud party speaker...but a better party speaker than many/most. at present my objective is to outperform a set of '83 vintage B&W DM220s i borrowed from my friend as far as punch and slam in the bass and low midrange is concerned. i guess you could say i want kickdrums to really "kick". also would like to avoid excessively icepicky highs. in addition these will be my everyday listening speakers when i am not using headphones.