Another floorstander help thread - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th December 2005, 07:30 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Another floorstander help thread

Hey guys,

I know you see a lot of these but I'm a noob and looking to build my first set of speakers. I've read a lot of threads and guides etc but I want to make sure of everything before I buy the gear.

I'm using this design as my point of reference seeing as I've never done this before.

Basically, each floorstanders utilizes 2 x P17WJ-00-08 woofers and 1 x D27TG-45-06 tweeter.

Using the recommended volume of 47.3 litres, I came up with the dimensions of:

W = 22cm
H = 91.3cm
D = 32cm

However, how should I align the drivers, MTM or TMM? and how do I know how far apart to space the drivers or whether I should change the alignment of the port or tweeter etc?

For the crossover I'm planning on just using the one provided in the design sheet.

If anyone could help answer these questions, or point out any flaws in my design I would be most appreciative.

Thanks,
Sam
Old 10th December 2005, 11:05 AM   #2
yertzl is offline yertzl  Australia
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to yertzl Send a message via MSN to yertzl Send a message via Yahoo to yertzl
hey {icebox425}

im a noob 2, but ive read speaker buildin 201.

so from my understanding with speaker alignment if you go TMM you will get lots of lobes in the sound on the vertical axis.

with MTM- geometric approach to eliminating lobing errors in multiple speakers
with MTM you get a couple of bonuses depends on the cross over you choose:
3rd order: basically a lobe that waves with a slight arch down with a bit of a bigger bump in the middle.