Need help measuring impedance.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am starting my first DIY project, so I am very new to this. I bought a pair of Aurum Cantus 130MKII 5.25" drivers for a small 2-way. They are listed as having a Fs = 38 and Vas = 27L. With speaker workshop I measure them at Fs = 50 and Vas = 15.5L. I have read that actual measurements can stray from published, but this seems like a bit much to me. I measured both drivers and they match each other within 1% for Fs, Vas and Qts. Should I be coincerned about the accuracy of my measuremets, or should I procede with enclosure design with the measured results?

Thanks,
Chad

Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
Hi Chad,

1st have you broken in the drivers?? the fs will probably drop at least 10% (which would be around 45Hz) after breakin, and that would be well within the expected range I'd say.... Certainly with the higher FS the VAS should be lower, so your overall ratios are probably ok, and shouldn't affect the enclosure design per se.

The other thing is what level did you do your impedance measurements at?? I always do mine at a very low level, (around 4K on the VU meter), T/S params will vary depending on the level you drive the woofer at, Vance Dickason recommends using the lowest level that your measuring equipment can use. whether you can get clean results at that low a level will depend on your sound card though.

Tony.