2-way journey with Seas W22EX

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I need some input and design ideas for my new project. So far the only things concrete are the midbass drivers, Seas W22EX001, and I'm aiming for a 2 way design (with sub work as an add on).

Things somewhat open for discussion: dipole, using clear acrylic baffle, active 8th order elliptical crossover between 1200-1500Hz.

There is a failrly tight budget. I've been/am quite resourceful and managed to get the W22 at a justifiable price thanks to ShinOBIWAN, and I have acrylic material with ability to machine it in abundance, and power amps are not a cost problem [chip amps]. However, I am a crossover newbie so this is one area I'll need a hand.

First question is which tweeter? The millenium is the obvious cost-no-object choice since many have already used this combo in OB configuration, but £300+ is way too much for tweeters at this point. Sub £100 to my door is more like it. Which leads me quickly to Zaph's preferences - 27TBFCG or 27TDFC (which I can't find in the UK?). Will any of these be suitable and go low enough? Any other suggestions?

Attachments

• dsc02741.jpg
    dsc02741.jpg
    42.9 KB · Views: 1,308
Re: 2-way dipole journey with Seas W22EX

Vikash said:

Which leads me quickly to Zaph's preferences - 27TBFCG or 27TDFC (which I can't find in the UK?).

https://secure.wilmslow-audio.co.uk...Classic_Range_and_Coaxial_drive_units_80.html
scroll down the page, the 27TBFCG is listed at £28 +V.

In my experience, (YMMV) without eq there is not enough bass to go down to a sub. Given that you need to xover to both a sub and a tweeter and IMO will have to put in some eq, then active is the way to go, unless you're prepared to put in the effort to design, tweak and test like mad.