Veneered MDF suppliers in the UK?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Thanks for all the replies guys -it's much appreciated. I can design them; I can build them, but what I'm not good at is veneering or finishing, hence the query. Especially as I've recently started looking into very large TQWT and horn enclosures. No way I can veneer those well. All we've got around Hull (daft, considering most of the timber imported into the UK comes through Hull) is a B&Q, a Homebase and a few scattered smaller shops dealing in fence posts and lengths of pine. My old merchant was up Scarborough way, but he sadly went out of business about 18 months ago now. I'll check them all out. I'm also wanting to start using decent hardwoods for some designs, so these will be very useful. Any favourite finishes while we're on the topic (subjective I know, but I'd be interested in what people have bought or like best).

Cheers for now & enjoy the music!
Scott

The prices for the veneered stuff were so outrageous considering the quality that I saw, I went back to doing it the old fashioned way, with separate veneer, applied using the Bob Brines method (roll glue onto box and veneer, leave to try. Add another coat to just the box, let dry, then iron the veneer on with plenty (but not too much) of heat. I'm still not great, but the best I can do, and I'm improving a bit. Better though, I can select the veneers I like most.

Anyone know of a decent solid-wood supplier whilst we're on the subject?

Scott

Vale Veneers

Hi Vikash,

I have used Vale Veneers, and found their products, help in selecting the best choice of woods for the intended purpose, and speed of supply, all to be excellent. They have some really gorgeous woods in their stock, too.