MTM with Dayton RS 7" and Seas TBFC/G: will it work? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 2nd October 2005, 02:40 PM   #1
tcpip is offline tcpip  India
diyAudio Member

Default MTM with Dayton RS 7" and Seas TBFC/G: will it work?

Hi all,

I've been wondering about trying a simple MTM, either active or passive xo, with the Dayton RS 7" metal cone and the Seas TBFC/G, xo'd somewhere between 1.5K-2K, LR4. I am new to speaker design, as some of you know, but I intend to use Speaker Workshop or some other package, take SPL measurements, and build a software-optimised xo.

I'm not too worried about how to model the box ... well, not at this stage. What I was wondering about was whether this overall combo will work. What do you guys think?

The RS 7" metal cone has some resonance peaks. If I go by what the PE Website's SPL graph shows, then there are three or four peaks, all of which can be bunched together in one region between 6K and about 12K and pushed down by using a single, wide, low-Q notch filter. After that, if I put an LR4 slope starting at 2K or a little lower, then the cone breakup peaks should be really 50dB below base line or even lower... well below audibility. I don't know how easy it will be do do this wide notch in a passive xo, but I'm willing to go the (analog) active xo way if needed. If I do active, I'll probably do LM3886 chipamps, one amp per driver (three amps per box).

What do you guys think of this whole idea? Will it work? Will it be a poor man's SS Solist, do you think?

Driver costs are attractive: I'll spend about USD 200 for all six drivers.

Once you tell me that there's nothing crazy or stupid or hairy-difficult in what I'm thinking of doing, I'll go order the drivers.