How important is the quality of passive crossovers? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th July 2005, 10:47 PM   #1
t10 is offline t10  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default How important is the quality of passive crossovers?

I have a pair of Yamaha 7390 3way towers layin around. They are all that you can expect from sub $200 towers, boomy, no mids, screechy highs.

Having accidentally landed on this board, my DIY loudspeaker interest was sparked. Being a total newbie, swapping out the woofers and the midrange cones would be a fun thing to do as a 1st attempt thing imo.

Having looked through some other threads regarding refurbing commercial speakers, a lot of people seem to advise against it, and recommend starting with a premade housing. Thing is though, I have nothing to do with the 7390's lol, they were in my basement for ages now, no one wants them, and I dont want to throw them out. My refurbing results do not have to be spectacular, but obviously I want to gain at least something quality wise out of this procedure other than just the expirience.

So my question is, should I also swap out the the crossover, or should I leave the old one in place?

Also any recomendations for cheapish but half decent 6" - 6" 1/2 (16cm) woofers, and 4" (10cm) midrange cones? Preferably in the ~$30 range each.
Old 5th July 2005, 10:50 PM   #2
morbo is offline morbo  Canada
diyAudio Member

You can just swap out the drivers, but its really a crapshoot whether it will sound any better unless you also design a new crossover for the new drivers, especially since you will be limited to drivers that will fit the existing cutouts.