which type of stuffing? - Page 10 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th December 2002, 08:37 AM   #136
diyAudio Member

Hi Al,

Thanks for the response...when you say like draught excluder, I'm assuming the shape of the roll and not the material...

Is it harder than the draught excluder foam? - will it compress to 1mm thick?

The stuff I've got at work is very hard thin sheets of rubber (harder than pencil erasers), and its the ideal thickness, I'm just not sure if it will seal as well as something thicker but softer.

The bonus of this stuff is that I can make a gasket cutter to cut out the perfect shape (it's what I do for a living )

Cheers

Rob
Old 14th December 2002, 10:35 AM   #137
diyAudio Moderator

Rob

If you've got it, flaunt it!

Go for it for the time being, it won't hurt, and you can always change it later.
Quote:
will it compress to 1mm thick?
Easily. It is very squishy! I have no idea what it is meant for in real life though.

I find it is often worth going to Tool Fairs and Auto Jumbles if you find them locally. You can pick up strange bits and pieces very cheaply.
Rick: Oh Cliff / Sometimes it must be difficult not to feel as if / You really are a cliff / when fascists keep trying to push you over it! / Are they the lemmings / Or are you, Cliff? / Or are you Cliff?
Old 14th December 2002, 10:52 AM   #138
diyAudio Member

I'll give it a go as soon as I get the enclosures all mocked up..

Cheers

Rob
Old 21st December 2002, 06:38 PM   #139
diyAudio Member

Pic of the baffle I'm going to test out..