How to choose 15" drivers for QSC 2450 amp?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Total newb here (but furiously trying to learn!),

Looking to build some 2-way 15" cabinets to be powered by my QSC 2450 amp.

It's rated at 500w RMS x 2 into 8 ohms.

My biggest question is: what power rating should I be looking for in the woofer?

Is there a general rule of thumb for matching drivers to amps? I know there are a gajillion other factors, just looking for a starting point.

Wanna keep the woofers under $100 each if possible.

I will be using 1" compression drivers, and cheating with a pre-built Dayton 2-way crossover with an L-Pad tweeter gain (maybe some day I'll start building my own crossovers, but at the moment I'm clueless).

Just built my own active 10" monitor (Parts express plate amp, Eminence Alpha 10", B&C 1" compression driver), and it came out really well, so I'm pumped to build some bigger cabinets.

thanks for helping out a humble newb

hey there

Lunchmoney,are you talking about a 2x15+horn or just a 15+tweet?
In the case of the latter it should be pretty straight forward.
The eminance kappa or even better kappa pro looks exelent.They are however a tad over you 100 mark.
there is a eminence oem 15 with a cast basket for less on the madisound web site.Its around 70 bucks and seems to be a good deal.(check the "pro sound "pdf on their site).
I think they sell it for cheap because its not a eminence stock item.They also make suggestions about box and vent sizes but winISD could sort that out for you in a jiffy anyway.
Use a driver rated at 300-600 w.Obviously the higher rating will make it more tolerable for abuse.
Make sure it have 4 inch voicecoil,and preferably a cast frame.Do not get anything that says extended low frequency or "suitable for subwoofer" rather look for extended HF range.