Building a system

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Maybe this isn't the right forum, but here it goes, I figure you guys know a lot more about audio equiptment than me.

I'm a poor american college student who loves electronic music. I started getting into "hifi" by purchasing a nice set of sennheiser headphones, and a very good sound card for my computer. Most of my music is low quality digital (192kbs) but I have still noticed a marked improvement over using regular cheapie headphones and a stock card, which produce crap.

So far i've been very pleased with my current setup, but desire to have a system which can produce music as good as I hear on my headphones. I've been looking into amps and speakers, and would like to know if anyone had any suggestions. I've heard Harmon Kardon makes a decent amp, and for $269.00, it fits my price. http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=306217&is=REG
I've heard having a crossover is something thats important, I don't quite know what that is exactly, or why it is important though.

As far as speakers go, I've heard some great things about Paradigm Atom speakers, as well as some great things about Tannoy speakers. I'd like to stay in the same price range as the amp, under $300 US for a pair, if possible, but would just like to hear some good sounds. My current setup is really bad, a set of creative computer speakers I got for $50.

Anyone have any suggestions? Eventually I'd like to get some turntables, but thats a loooong ways away.