Help me build an active monitor for dj'ing - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd April 2005, 07:46 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question Help me build an active monitor for dj'ing

(also posted in "everything else", wasn't sure of best place to put it)

Hey there,

Total noob here...

I'm looking to build one self-powered monitor specifically for mobile dj'ing. This is for putting in the dj booth with me, pointed towards me, so I can hear what I'm doing. Essentially, whatever the crowd is hearing is what I'll be hearing through this monitor.

Requirements:

- 8" or 10" woofer
- not sure what size or type of tweeter I should use
- INTERNAL amplifier(s), ideally bi-amped
- 100 Watts rms minimum (combined power of both amps)
- bass, treble, and volume gains
- RCA inputs at the very least, 1/4" would be nice too
- rugged construction for mobile dj'ing
- don't want to spend more than $300 on components and materials
- doesn't need to be studio monitor quality, it just needs to get the job done and be reliable

The holy grail would be to duplicate a Mackie SRM350 (obviously not the molded ohusing). I'm sure it's unrealistic for me to build a speaker of this caliber, but check it out and it'll give you a sense of the basic specs I'm after:

http://www.mackie.com/products/srm350/index.html

I'm new to the world of building speakers, but I have a lot of experience in a model shop, and I have a model shop at my disposable with every tool under the sun. The tools and the craftsmanship are there, just not the specific know-how for speakers. I'm sure it's unrealistic for me to get into the hardcore intricacies that you guys do, but I'm sure that if I had the right components and some advice on assembly I could get it done.