Help me build an active monitor for dj'ing

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
(also posted in "everything else", wasn't sure of best place to put it)

Hey there,

Total noob here...

I'm looking to build one self-powered monitor specifically for mobile dj'ing. This is for putting in the dj booth with me, pointed towards me, so I can hear what I'm doing. Essentially, whatever the crowd is hearing is what I'll be hearing through this monitor.

Requirements:

- 8" or 10" woofer
- not sure what size or type of tweeter I should use
- INTERNAL amplifier(s), ideally bi-amped
- 100 Watts rms minimum (combined power of both amps)
- bass, treble, and volume gains
- RCA inputs at the very least, 1/4" would be nice too
- rugged construction for mobile dj'ing
- don't want to spend more than $300 on components and materials
- doesn't need to be studio monitor quality, it just needs to get the job done and be reliable

The holy grail would be to duplicate a Mackie SRM350 (obviously not the molded ohusing). I'm sure it's unrealistic for me to build a speaker of this caliber, but check it out and it'll give you a sense of the basic specs I'm after:

http://www.mackie.com/products/srm350/index.html

I'm new to the world of building speakers, but I have a lot of experience in a model shop, and I have a model shop at my disposable with every tool under the sun. The tools and the craftsmanship are there, just not the specific know-how for speakers. I'm sure it's unrealistic for me to get into the hardcore intricacies that you guys do, but I'm sure that if I had the right components and some advice on assembly I could get it done.

Please kindly help me with:

- recommended components and where to get them
- how-to advice or links to how-to advice
- an assessment of whether I'm in over my head or not

THANK YOU!!