Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way
Home Forums Rules Articles Store Gallery Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd March 2005, 07:11 PM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: asdf
Default cheap speaker parts

Hi - I bought a pair of Dahlton speakers, which apparently are a total rip off except for the cabinetry. I thought someone here might find the parts useful. If you would, I'm selling them at
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...=ADME:B:LC:US:1

There are probably other elements of the speakers which are salvageable... So hopefully someone here will find this useful.

the reserve is set to 50, and i'm sure that if its worth that to you, you'd win it. probably no one else will bid.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2005, 08:42 PM   #2
jleaman is offline jleaman  Belgium
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Send a message via AIM to jleaman
Link dead : O )
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2005, 09:09 PM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Timn8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
I'm sorry to hear that you got stuck with those speakers. You're not alone. I searched eBay and found 5 listings for Dahlton speakers. One guy is apparently passing on the scam and has them priced at $1500!
Here's an interesting review of these speakers.
http://www.gr-research.com/dahlton.htm
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2005, 11:43 AM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
ShinOBIWAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally posted by Timn8ter
I'm sorry to hear that you got stuck with those speakers. You're not alone. I searched eBay and found 5 listings for Dahlton speakers. One guy is apparently passing on the scam and has them priced at $1500!
Here's an interesting review of these speakers.
http://www.gr-research.com/dahlton.htm
Thanks for the link Tim, made interesting reading

Fortunately here in the UK we don't have such racket or at least non that I've ever heard of.
Generally I think anyone with common sense realises that something is wrong if they are approached in the street with offers of something for next to nothing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2005, 04:50 PM   #5
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salisbury, UK
Quote:
Originally posted by ShinOBIWAN


Thanks for the link Tim, made interesting reading

Fortunately here in the UK we don't have such racket or at least non that I've ever heard of.
Generally I think anyone with common sense realises that something is wrong if they are approached in the street with offers of something for next to nothing.


Unfortunately we do Once whilst in Reading I was approached by some American guys in a ford transit. They pulled up and told me they were home cinema specialists and had these speakers left over from an install they had just done. They showed me those exact speakers that are on the site and asked £250 for them. At the time I knew nothing of these sort of scams but luckily I did not buy into it. I took down the registration details of the vechicle and reported them to the police. (I though perhaps they had stolen them and were trying to flog them off)

As for these http://www.gr-research.com/diyevents/white.htm whilst I was at college someone had speakers very similar to these they were eltax I think but had a front baffle and yep they sounded awful.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2005, 02:30 AM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
mpmarino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Crunchville, where I don't fit in.
In my lifetime I have been approached by that 'white van' 4 times! I must just have the look! The first time was at least 10 years ago in Revere, MA., and as recently as a couple of months ago in Littleton, MA.(GR audio or something) This business has survived the test of time very well! Franchise anyone?
__________________
Crazy Yankee.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2005, 03:36 AM   #7
diyAudio Member
 
Timn8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
I think it's time for me to sell my pickup and buy a van.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2005, 07:50 AM   #8
mAJORD is offline mAJORD  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane Australia
there is also the dynalabs / fleetwood van speaker scam ,

they even have a website promoting the speakers as 1500dollar+ US , but as the photos I have prove, theyre probably worth about 1/10th of that
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2005, 01:49 PM   #9
diyAudio Member
 
ShinOBIWAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally posted by mAJORD
there is also the dynalabs / fleetwood van speaker scam ,

they even have a website promoting the speakers as 1500dollar+ US , but as the photos I have prove, theyre probably worth about 1/10th of that
The Dynalabs scan is well documented here:

http://www.crimes-of-persuasion.com/...aker_scams.htm

Someone even managed to get a copy of an internal memo between the crooksters on how to perform the perfect 'hit'. Its about halfway through the page and is very interesting reading.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Madisound Swifty Speaker Kit parts cheap!! sbrtoy Swap Meet 3 10th December 2008 05:03 PM
cheap parts and a lot of em karma Swap Meet 15 24th August 2004 12:41 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:29 PM.

Page generated in 0.11371 seconds (76.19% PHP - 23.81% MySQL) with 10 queries

Copyright ©1999-2012 diyAudio