openly baffled!!! noobish help wanted - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st March 2005, 03:41 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to psychosteve
Default openly baffled!!! noobish help wanted

i just picked up a set of audax ap210m0 drivers, the qts makes me think they should be open baffle, can any one help with the design ideas for this as im kinda new to speakers. cheers guys, steve.. ..
Old 1st March 2005, 04:17 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

The Fs on the spec sheet says 46Hz, yet the impedance curve says it's about 140Hz. What gives?

http://www.audax.fr/docs/@ap210m0.jpg

Anyway, what frequency do you plan to high-pass this thing? Or will it be used to fill in the entire bottom range?
Old 1st March 2005, 05:29 PM   #3
GM is offline GM  United States
diyAudio Member

Greets!

Obviously they superimposed the wrong impedance plot onto the FR plot since not only is it off Fs-wise, but the impedance peak is of a much lower Qt driver.

Spec-wise, this driver can be used in OB, TL, aperiodic, or very large sealed depending on the intended app/desired performance parameters (within the limits of the driver and your available space of course).

GM
Old 15th March 2005, 03:29 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to psychosteve
i was intending to use it to fill the entire bottom end, hopefully in an open baffle box, but i wanted to know does it matter what size box?

i was thinking about some 30 litre boxes i have built before, but with metal mesh (the kind for the front of PA boxes) across the back???

also if it doesnt matter to much on size can i make them thinner (less deep) ??

any help apreciated, steve.. ..
Old 19th March 2005, 12:26 AM   #5
diyAudio Member

Greets!