What’s a good choice of speaker

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I was wanting to make a set of monitors for my studio, which speakers where the better ones peerless or vifa? Is that a good choice or are there better ones around for that price. I’ll need help with this one because I only fitted car audio for a living I have no experience with smaller sound quality speakers.
I’m going with peerless and vifa because their the easiest to get form my supplier.
Thanks

The best drivers from both companies are the XT line from vifa and the HDS range from peerless. If you are after sub bass then the XLS from peerless is very good too.

THe best tweeter from the two companies (I would say) is the XT25.

Everyone who has listened to the HDS and the XT woofers likes them both lots.

I was after pure sound quality not too much bass (I have 2 12” subs for that) peerless or vifa? And hoping to get 2.5mm dome tweeter, 5“ mid, 8” woofer and make a box for them; is that good?
I don’t know much I’m still learning.
So in peerless and vifa which models are the best; medium and worst?
Is it a good idea to mix brands?
What sizes should you step up in to cover the frequencies?
What does all the tech data mean I only know the basic stuff like wattage, impedance, freq response, excursion etc .etc
Thanks all for you help

I was after pure sound quality not too much bass (I have 2 12” subs for that) peerless or vifa? And hoping to get 2.5mm dome tweeter, 5“ mid, 8” woofer and make a box for them; is that good?

The 5" mid is too big IMO to use with an 8" woofer. Don't forget the baffle step losses and bandpass gain. You will need to pad it down significantly. I think a dome mid or 3-4" midrange makes more sense if you want a 3 way based on an 8" woofer, and you'll probably get better detail.

Actually, since you have a sub, maybe a 2 way with a 6 or 7" midbass would be easier.